Trailers: Albert Nobbs

10/13/2011

Movie Trailers

 
This is one that I’m quite surprised to find out still has yet to get a wide release date, from what I understand it has gathered tons of Oscar talk over the past year, since production began. Glenn Close who stars as Albert Nobbs first dawned this look on stage back in 1982 a few years before she did “Fatal Attraction” that made her a household name. She earned a Obie Award for her portrayal, and since then has been attempting the turn it into a feature film, having gained hope in the early 2000’s but funding fell through before production. Now that dream has finally become reality, Close not only stars in this, but also co-wrote the script and is producing.
 
My first thoughts on the trailer go back to my open sentence (above), this production looks to be extremely well put together with not only an interesting story that make me think of movies like “Victor/Victoria” but also the fact that they got so many of today’s top veteran actors and also rising stars. I read on IMDb.com that Orlando Bloom and Amanda Seyfried were original cast to play the roles now occupied by Aaron Johnson and Mia Wasikowska, and I was totally astonished by this fact for 1 big reason. Although I feel that Bloom can play this type of role, I don’t think that Seyfried is gifted enough to match Bloom let alone Close. Wasikowska on the other hand has proven her talent in multiple films (i.e. “The Kids Are All Right”, “Jane Eyre”, “Alice In Wonderland”, and “Restless”) that she can not only handle serious period roles but also lead a film as well as hold her own with veterans, something Seyfried has yet to do as far as I know. Johnson like Wasikowska has also proven himself to be top notch showing his range with films like “Kick-Ass” and “Nowhere Boy”, although Bloom could have continued without Seyfried, his age would not have match up as well with Wasikowska in the opposite role. As for the rest of the cast, Close is already one of today best actresses, so I already know she is going to put everything into this and give an outstanding performance. Also among the cast are Jonathan Rhys Meyers and Brendan Gleeson, who unfortunately aren’t seen much or at all in the trailer so I can’t really say how they perform, but knowing their track record this is going to be a great film.
 

Synopsis:

A witty Irish-set period drama about the lives of staff at Dublin’s most luxurious hotel: the illegitimate child of a maid, a beautiful couple’s impossible love, and Albert…a woman who pretends to be a man to survive. Nineteenth century Ireland: for a woman to be independent and single, she must deceive everyone – by pretending to be a man. Albert, a shy butler who keeps to himself, has been hiding a deep secret for years – “he” is a woman who has had to behave as a man all her life in order to escape a life of poverty and loneliness. When a handsome painter Hubert Page arrives at the hotel, Albert is inspired to try and escape the false life she has created for herself. She gathers her nerve to court beautiful, saucy young maid Helen in whom she thinks she’s found a companion – but Helen’s eye is on a new arrival: handsome, bad-boy Joe, the new handy-man. As Albert dares to hope that she might one day live a normal life, we catch a glimpse of a free-spirited woman who is caught in the wrong time… Stars Glenn Close.

 

 

So what do you think of “Albert Nobbs”, does the trailer interesting? Will you see this when if comes out?

, , , , , , ,

About Amanda Barnhart

I'm a avid film lover. I love collecting Blu-rays/DVDs, as well as movie posters. Along with doing that I'm an amateur film critic (having starting my site/blog in 2010). I'm also a photographer. I try to keep my site up-to-date with the newest reviews. (To Find Out More Click The "About Me" Button) So definitely subscribe if your interested, and don't be afraid to leave your thoughts in the comment box but please keep it nice & clean, Thanks!

View all posts by Amanda Barnhart

Connect With Me!

2 Comments on “Trailers: Albert Nobbs”

  1. rtm Says:

    So Seyfried was originally cast in Wasikowska’s role? I’m not familiar at all with the subject matter but I LOVE Aaron Johnson ever since Nowhere Boy so I might rent this one.

    Reply

    • Awesome Barnhart Says:

      I wasn’t originally either, I just remember hearing about this getting made and after I watch the trailer I researched something before writing this. I wanted to have some interesting facts to go with my opinion. And same here I absolutely loved Aaron Johnson in Nowhere Boy, it such a excellent film.

      Thanks for reading and commenting 😀

Leave a Reply

