Trailers: Dark Shadows

03/15/2012

Movie Trailers

A few hours ago the trailer for Tim Burton’s latest gothic movie “Dark Shadows” dropped. “Dark Shadows” is based on the popular ABC gothic soap opera that was on between the late 1960’s till the early 1970’s. The show was later remade but had a short lived run in 1991 on NBC. After that failed effort it wasn’t until 2004 that the show tried to get picked up once again this time on the WB but never got past the pilot stage which featured a not yet famous Jessica Chastain. Surprisingly with all of the failed tries at bringing back the series for television there hasn’t been an attempt at doing another featured film since the two films 1970’s “House of Dark Shadows” and 1971’s sequel “Night of Dark Shadows” both of which featured most of the cast from the original series.
 
After watching the trailer questions began to pop into my mind as to the integrity that the movie will have for the original series. As it looks by the end of the two and a half minute trailer it almost looks to be a joke, which is surprising since the beginning of the trailer has a lot of promise, but than around the half way mark it all starts to fall apart (which it didn‘t have any help from the song choice). And while I’m all for a comedy and the cast involved which happen to be some of my favorite people acting today like Chloe Grace Moretz, I wasn’t expecting this to be a comedy. Having all of that brought to mind other movies like “Bewitched”, “The Brady Bunch Movie”, “Starsky & Hutch” and “Land of the Lost” which all took there respected original series and made the movies parodies of them. While this make have worked for a couple it’s not always a great way to win over anyone that watched the original show. The reason I hinder so much on the fact that this seems to rely on comedy more than anything is because when you look up the movie it doesn’t list this as any type of a comedy which is what I thought it was going to be. While it’s ok to have a few jokes (it is expected being a soap opera) like how Barnabas (Johnny Depp) is trying to figure out the technology of the 1970’s. It’s the fact that overall the extent of the film was something I figured to be more serious and I’m hoping it might still wind up that way when I see the movie in May. If it does turn out to be nothing more than a comedy poking fun at a breakthrough series for it’s time than Burton is not as big a fan as he said he was and he will lose the respect of a lot of people who are fans of the original series.
 
Will all of that you can see I have my reservations for the movie, however I’m still kind of excited to see it because it is of course Tim Burton and he brings a lot of creativity to his work. And even though I’m not as stoked to see it after watching the trailer as I was before, I never shy away from seeing something done by Burton.
 
“Dark Shadows” hits theaters May 11th
 
 
Official Synopsis:
In the year 1752, Joshua and Naomi Collins, with young son Barnabas, set sail from Liverpool, England to start a new life in America. But even an ocean was not enough to escape the mysterious curse that has plagued their family. Two decades pass and Barnabas (Johnny Depp) has the world at his feet—or at least the town of Collinsport, Maine. The master of Collinwood Manor, Barnabas is rich, powerful and an inveterate playboy…until he makes the grave mistake of breaking the heart of Angelique Bouchard (Eva Green). A witch, in every sense of the word, Angelique dooms him to a fate worse than death: turning him into a vampire, and then burying him alive.
 
Two centuries later, Barnabas is inadvertently freed from his tomb and emerges into the very changed world of 1972. He returns to Collinwood Manor to find that his once-grand estate has fallen into ruin. The dysfunctional remnants of the Collins family have fared little better, each harboring their own dark secrets. Matriarch Elizabeth Collins Stoddard (Michelle Pfeiffer) has called upon live-in psychiatrist, Dr. Julia Hoffman (Helena Bonham Carter), to help with her family troubles.
 
Also residing in the manor is Elizabeth’s ne’er-do-well brother, Roger Collins, (Jonny Lee Miller); her rebellious teenage daughter Carolyn Stoddard (Chloe Moretz); and Roger’s precocious 10-year-old son, David Collins (Gulliver McGrath). The mystery extends beyond the family, to caretaker Willie Loomis, played by Jackie Earle Haley, and David’s new nanny, Victoria Winters, played by Bella Heathcote.
 
So what do you this of the “Dark Shadows” trailer? Does this keep true to the original series? Do you think Burton is going in the wrong direction with this adaptation? Will you see this when it comes out?
, , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Amanda Barnhart

I'm a avid film lover. I love collecting Blu-rays/DVDs, as well as movie posters. Along with doing that I'm an amateur film critic (having starting my site/blog in 2010). I'm also a photographer. I try to keep my site up-to-date with the newest reviews. (To Find Out More Click The "About Me" Button) So definitely subscribe if your interested, and don't be afraid to leave your thoughts in the comment box but please keep it nice & clean, Thanks!

View all posts by Amanda Barnhart

Connect With Me!

5 Comments on “Trailers: Dark Shadows”

  1. fogsmoviereviews Says:

    Being free of expectations of how it will relate to the source material (I never watched the tv show) I thought this looked really funny and offneat and dark. We might have a decent comedy coming with this one…

    Of course, I’m sure fans of the show would probably be upset by the change in tone.

    Reply

    • Amanda Barnhart Says:

      Yeah I’d probably feel different if I hadn’t seen any of the episodes. But I always like to check out the source material (if I can) beforehand to see how they keep true to it. It’s available on Netflix and the 2 original movies are on Amazon Instant (although I haven’t seen the latter…yet)
      I don’t have a huge problem with there being some comedy involved but if you go on IMDb it’s not even listed as a comedy so that’s why I wasn’t expecting it to be that way.

      And the part about it seeming like a parody of it looks to be the same for “21 Jump Street” which I thought was a serious show no comedy (however I’ve never watched it so I could be wrong) and the movie just makes them out as idiots. It’s just weird that they seem to use that as the go to making any old show into a comedy even though the source material was never one.

    • fogsmoviereviews Says:

      Yeah, it was a total shocker to me too. I think to everyone really. I know I hadnt heard it was going to be a comedy… I think the intention was that it was going to be played straight.

      Surprise!

      You have a good point about “why even take the source material” if youre not going to respect it… but, thats Hollywood for you…

  2. The Focused Filmographer Says:

    Like Fogs, I don’t know what to expect, having never watched the original source material. I’m still not 100% convinced to see this one, but I did laugh quite a bit during the trailer and am now more interested than before.

    Reply

    • Amanda Barnhart Says:

      Like in my reply to Fogs, I probably would feel different toward it if I hadn’t seen any of the series. But I just feel if your gonna bring something from the past to the present do it the way it was originally at least genre wise if not your just giving a false description of how the original show or movie really was. But that’s just my opinion, I like the cast and who is behind it, it’s just I was expecting it to be darker and more serious with maybe a sprinkle of comedy but no a possible full on comedy.

      Btw I really like how this is opening up a discussion.

Leave a Reply

